Lord help us all! DsquareD has discovered IKEA!

Standard

Last night I had orchestra rehearsal. When I got home, fairly late, DsquareD was on the internet, which is pretty usual, while “The Office” reruns played in the background. What wasn’t usual, was that he was all excited about something.

I had spent part of the afternoon perusing Craigslist for  construction materials for sale that we might be able to use at the new house, such as bathroom sinks, front room windows, corner shower stalls, that type of thing. When DsquareD got home from work, I showed him what little I had found, then I had to leave, so he was starting to take it from there.

When I got home, he was still at it, and my driving-home dreams of him having possibly cleaned up the kitchen were dashed. Everything was still exactly as I had left it, with the exception of him having helped himself to a bowl or two of the crockpot beans I had made, but God forbid that he even rinse his bowl…much less package up the leftovers and clean up…heavy sigh!

Anyway, DsquareD has been thinking about starting a “Little House Big Ideas” blog to detail our progress on the new house. He initially wanted me to include things about it in MY blog, but I told him “get your own blog”. He’s taken tons of pictures, just hasn’t started the blog yet. But what I didn’t know, until yesterday, that part of the reason he wants the blog is that he’s hoping his thoughts about his ideas for the house will generate tips and comments from people that we can use.

He has this group of guys from all over the world that he’s in a forum with and he has been sharing our house plans with them and apparently last night they came through in a big way, sending him links, and pictures and other ideas, many of which apparently came from Ikea.

I don’t know why we didn’t think of it earlier. We went to the closest Ikea store once a couple of years ago, mostly just for the experience, because at the time we weren’t anywhere close to owning a home or doing any remodeling of any sort. Anyway, it looks like there is a wide scope of possibility at Ikea for our house and, in particular, DsquareD found this double sink vanity:

bullaren--piece-bathroom-furniture-set__0106064_PE260079_S4.JPG.jpg

 

which we instantly fell in love with and HAVE TO HAVE!  Here’s the problem. It says it’s not available to order online. It also says it’s not available at the three stores closest to us. AND, it says it cannot tell us WHEN it will be available. AAAAAARGH! I will clearly have to make some phone calls. And I suspect that a trip to the Ikea in Schaumburg, Illinois may be in our future.

On a lighter note, my first orchestra concert will be held a week from this Saturday. I am very excited! We are playing some very pretty, melodic music, including a Schubert symphony that goes on so long you will want to rip your ears off! And we have even shortened it from its original length by removing almost all the repeats. Last night our conductor read us some information about the Symphony, which was apparently discovered after Schubert’s death by his friend, Robert Schumann, who wrote in a letter to his wife, Clara Schumann: “…I have found a symphony of heavenly length…” I’m thinking hellacious would have been a better descriptor. It’s an exercise in stamina for the performers, that’s for sure.

The concert is being sponsored by the area Humane Society, and they have announced that the audience should be prepared for “a special surprise”. I’m thinking they’re giving away free kittens to all attendees!!!

About mugwumpsworld

I am a 50-something wife and mother of three grown kids. I figure I'm in my third act of life right now, one for which I failed to make a plan. So I'm living every day kind of by the seat of my pants, which can be exciting, but also a little disturbing. The dubious cast of characters who inhabit my world consist of: Mugwump (that's me); my sweet long-suffering redheaded husband, D-squared; my older daughter, Sissy (sometimes known as "The Queen"; my younger daughter, Sassy (aka "the Hypochondriac" or "Magellan", for reasons which you'll learn soon enough); and my stepson, Big JD. My two grandcats, Jasper & Donovan, also put in an occasional appearance, mainly for cuteness' sake.

Leave a Reply

