Just an old, washed-up has-been

Standard

That’s how I’m feeling this week after suffering another (emotional) setback. This one originated in the job search realm (again). Three-and-a-half weeks ago I applied for a job that I met every qualification for, had experience doing, and was very passionate about. In addition, I knew two contact people at the organization who assured me that I stood an excellent chance. I wrote and submitted a killer cover letter with my resume, sent it to one of my contacts (who happened to be the HR director), with a little note making sure she remembered me and she assured me that she did, told me it might be two to three weeks before they interviewed, and promised to “keep me in the loop”.

I waited patiently and after three weeks had gone by, I emailed this person again and was dismissively told “oh, we hired somebody already”. I didn’t even get an interview, which totally flummoxed me, as I have aways been considered very hirable and I know that my written materials are always excellent and that I interview well.

This is the second job in as many months that I didn’t get and don’t know why. So of course I attribute it to my age and go into full-on “nobody loves me, everybody hates me…” mode. In many respects, I’m okay with not working, and yet there is something about being rejected that nobody enjoys. I am finding more and more that the workplace has changed drastically and that I am being left behind…and yet I’m not sure I’m ready to retire.

I wish I could think of creative ways to make money but sometimes I don’t think I have a very highly-developed creativity gene. I LOVE writing, this blog for instance. Once I start writing, I could go on and on forever. My readers praise my blog and tell me they miss it if I don’t update regularly. But I don’t have the patience to market my writing. Even the activities required in figuring out how to add links and pictures to my blog are beyond my level of patience most days. I know that I will figure it out soon, but so far I have successfully pushed it to the bottom of the list.

DsquareD would like to blog about our new little house project, which is turning out to be really fun and rewarding, but most of the technical aspects of what we are doing there escape me, and I’m not sure my readers would tolerate too much of that. Suffice it to say for now that on Saturday we had a real fun time there. Sassy joined us (an hour-and-a-half later than she had promised to get there) to put in her “Service Time”, and I was in one room grinding old glue off the hardwood floors while she ground glue in the next room. She had her iPod in her ears and was singing at the top of her lungs while the two grinder motors whirred and DsquareD hammered as he knocked down walls. It’s a good thing it was wintertime, because if the windows had been open, I’m sure the neighbors would have complained and wondered if any cats were being tortured.

DsquareD is taking tons of “before” pictures  (we won’t be getting to any “after” stages for awhile yet). He found a man’s wedding ring after tearing out an old built-in cupboard, so we contacted the realtor who put us in touch with one of the former owner’s eight kids. DsquareD met “Danny” at the little house Monday night to give him the ring and show him our planned remodeling. They had a nice time swapping stories. “Danny” said he remembered his Dad losing the ring about 40 years ago, and hiring a plumber to tear apart the bathroom sink, but never finding the ring and never replacing it. I hope he’s up in heaven smiling down to see that it’s been found. “Danny” also told DsquareD lots of stories about growing up in the tiny house with seven brothers and sisters. Pretty amazing. I have to go wake DsquareD now so that we can go over there and do some work. Over and out!

About mugwumpsworld

I am a 50-something wife and mother of three grown kids. I figure I'm in my third act of life right now, one for which I failed to make a plan. So I'm living every day kind of by the seat of my pants, which can be exciting, but also a little disturbing. The dubious cast of characters who inhabit my world consist of: Mugwump (that's me); my sweet long-suffering redheaded husband, D-squared; my older daughter, Sissy (sometimes known as "The Queen"; my younger daughter, Sassy (aka "the Hypochondriac" or "Magellan", for reasons which you'll learn soon enough); and my stepson, Big JD. My two grandcats, Jasper & Donovan, also put in an occasional appearance, mainly for cuteness' sake.

One response »

Leave a Reply

