DsquareD tricked me!

Standard

Last night DsquareD said we should take a ride over to the new house to set a jackpost in the basement (for shoring up the slightly inadequate floor joists) and also to check out the Menard’s that is closing to see if we could get any deals on shower stall(s) or sinks or vanities. I grudgingly agreed to do this because it sounded fairly nonobjectionable. We quickly discovered that Menard’s had already been picked over and everything we liked had a big “Sold” sign on it, but still he lingered there…Luckily I found a recliner for sale that I could sit in while I waited him out.

Then we did go over to the house and after setting the jackpost in the basement, he tried out his idea for using a wire wheel on an electric drill to see if it would get the old glue off the hardwood floors. It worked pretty slick, so he decided it was something that he could actually trust me to do. So after I patiently put up with his detailed instructions and lecturing, including him giving me the earth shattering news that some electrical plugs have one prong that is larger than the other and they have to go into the outlet a certain way (I nearly smacked his head off his shoulders at that one…but instead I just bit my tongue, because things go faster and smoother that way), I set to work in one bedroom while he worked tearing down walls in another room.

The floor work is fairly labor intensive and backbreaking, but it gives a certain sense of satisfaction when you see the  bare floorboards without glue. After working for awhile, we decided to go home (we like to watch “The Office” reruns that start at 9:00). I was coated in sawdust and my hands continued to vibrate for a good 30 minutes after stopping. Only we didn’t go right home…BECAUSE…DsquareD realized that Home Depot was still open for another half an hour! Like I said, he tricked me! All I could think about was Twizzler’s Pull & Peels, but instead I had to tolerate another trip to Home Depot, after I said I’d never set foot in there again. Thank God I had brought a book to read, because when we got there, I announced that I would wait in the car and could he please buy some Twizzler’s while he was in the store.

Instead he came out with tools and NO Twizzler’s. He did buy me a Shop Vac in an attempt to appease me, and I nearly wet myself from excitement. We DID buy Twizzler’s on the way home, mainly because I whined about it the whole way, which we enjoyed while watching what was left of “The Office”. Today, while DsquareD was at work, I went over to the house by myself, put together my new Shop Vac, vacuumed up a great deal of sawdust, and wire wheeled the floor some more. I’m actually getting kind of excited about the results of our labors, although I still hold out hope that we’ll win the lottery and can PAY someone else to do the work! Maybe I’m not as remodeling-impaired as I thought!

About mugwumpsworld

I am a 50-something wife and mother of three grown kids. I figure I'm in my third act of life right now, one for which I failed to make a plan. So I'm living every day kind of by the seat of my pants, which can be exciting, but also a little disturbing. The dubious cast of characters who inhabit my world consist of: Mugwump (that's me); my sweet long-suffering redheaded husband, D-squared; my older daughter, Sissy (sometimes known as "The Queen"; my younger daughter, Sassy (aka "the Hypochondriac" or "Magellan", for reasons which you'll learn soon enough); and my stepson, Big JD. My two grandcats, Jasper & Donovan, also put in an occasional appearance, mainly for cuteness' sake.

2 responses »

  1. Margi, you have found something you can enjoy!!! It isn’t GARDENING !!! Hey, now that you have a yard again, maybe you will LEARN to ENJOY GARDENING!!! I do LOVE YOU!

  2. If we won the lottery, it would just give me more time and money to do a better job by myself. It seems like that’s the only way to get things done the way you want.

Leave a Reply

